Mounting drives at system boot

Management of storage subsystems: SAN, volume shadowing, logical disks, file systems, and more.
Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
ajbrehm
Valued Contributor
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:55 am
Reputation: 6
Location: Zurich
Status: Offline
Contact:

Mounting drives at system boot

Post by ajbrehm » Sat Jan 16, 2021 2:47 pm

I am trying to mount some cd-rom drives at boot.

Those are the last three lines of my systartup_vms.com:

$! mount/system dka100 ALPHA0842L2
$ mount/system dka300 AVMS842L2LP1
$ EXIT

This works to mount dka300. But when I uncomment the first line to mount dka100 as well, after a reboot every user but system gets a "You are not authorized to login from this source" message when trying to log in.

What am I overlooking?


sms
Active Contributor
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Mounting drives at system boot

Post by sms » Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:37 pm

Code: Select all

> I am trying to mount some cd-rom drives at boot.

   Ok.  Do your MOUNT commands work interactively?

> This works to mount dka300. But when I uncomment the first line to
> mount dka100 as well, after a reboot every user but system gets a "You
> are not authorized to login from this source" message when trying to log
> in.

   That's a pretty distant consequence.  Does the MOUNT command work or
fail in the script?  Add some 'WRITE SYS$OUTPUT "Progress message N"'
commands, or "SET VERIFY" so that you can see what's happening?

> What am I overlooking?

   "/NOASSIST"?  Error checking?  "SET NOON"?
Last edited by sms on Sat Jan 16, 2021 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.


hein
Contributor
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2020 5:20 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Mounting drives at system boot

Post by hein » Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:50 am

ajbrehm wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 2:47 pm
This works to mount dka300. But when I uncomment the first line to mount dka100 as well, after a reboot every user but system gets a "You are not authorized to login from this source" message when trying to log in.
What am I overlooking?
First of all, how do the users try to log in. SSH? What TCPIP stack? Can they try Telnet? Decnet?

Does the availability of DKA100 somehow influence for example the sshd2_config with it's allowusers/denyusers/allowgroups/denygroups

Secondly why bother mounting 'real' CD's ? Are you that low on disk storage to worry about a few Gigabytes?
Why not either suck in all the CD copying the files to a directory structure on a 'real' disk?
Or if you need the CD structure then suck them into a image mounted using the LD driver?

Hope this helps a little,
Hein


volkerhalle
Active Contributor
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 11:31 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Mounting drives at system boot

Post by volkerhalle » Mon Jan 18, 2021 5:16 am

Andrew,

what is the label of your system disk ? Also ALPHA0842L2 ? If so, there would be conflicts with the disk logical names and the mount should have failed. What's the error message seen during boot ?

Volker.

Post Reply