I was helping test a procedure for updating the Phase V local name database with a command like this:
$ RUN SYS$SYSTEM:DECNET_REGISTER
IMPORT REPLACE FILE node::NAMES.IMP
That failed with an error message:
Fatal - Internal error, cannot allocate memory
Other programs handle transparent network access as expected (for example, I can do "edit/read" on that file just fine). Odd that it would fail here.
Is this the right way to report bugs (for the community access program)?
decnet_register doesn't handle remote file access
-
Topic author - Contributor
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Fri May 19, 2023 2:19 pm
- Reputation: 0
- Status: Offline
Re: decnet_register doesn't handle remote file access
I see the same failure on 8.4-L1 on Alpha. Also, the error occurs before the node name is checked; on that system, the node name used in the operation was not yet defined in the local database.
-
- Master
- Posts: 206
- Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 11:31 am
- Reputation: 0
- Status: Offline
Re: decnet_register doesn't handle remote file access
Paul,
the command-line variant (if the terminal is not a video terminal, i.e. after SET TERM/DEV=LA120) of DECNET_REGISTER even fails on OpenVMS Alpha V8.2 in the same way:
The IMPORT operation works (at least on OpenVMS Alpha V8.2), when using DECNET_REGISTER on a video terminal.
Volker.
the command-line variant (if the terminal is not a video terminal, i.e. after SET TERM/DEV=LA120) of DECNET_REGISTER even fails on OpenVMS Alpha V8.2 in the same way:
Code: Select all
AXPVMS $ set term/dev=la120
AXPVMS $ mc decnet_register
DECNET_REGISTER> IMPORT REPLACE FILE VAXVMS::nodes.imp
Fatal - Internal error, cannot allocate memory
IMPORT REPLACE FILE VAXVMS::nodes.imp
^
DECNET_REGISTER>
Volker.
-
Topic author - Contributor
- Posts: 16
- Joined: Fri May 19, 2023 2:19 pm
- Reputation: 0
- Status: Offline
Re: decnet_register doesn't handle remote file access
Import works fine if the import file is a local file. Even in menu mode (on a video terminal) it doesn't work for a remote file, though in that case I get "File not found" rather than the memory allocation error I saw for the other cases.
It's not a big problem of course; a simple workaround is to copy the file and then import using the local copy. It's just odd to see a failure like this given that VMS has transparent remote file access.
It's not a big problem of course; a simple workaround is to copy the file and then import using the local copy. It's just odd to see a failure like this given that VMS has transparent remote file access.