Question about where we'll be able to run OpenVMS x86

OpenVMS x86 Field Test questions, reports, and feedback.

Topic author
ahribellah
Visitor

Question about where we'll be able to run OpenVMS x86

Post by ahribellah » Tue May 16, 2023 3:47 am

So I'm completely new to OpenVMS other than a bit of fiddling with the Alpha version in a VM. I get that the current x86 field test is mostly aimed at consumer virtualization software, but I'm curious about where I can expect to be able to run anything I develop on the field test in the future.

Primarily, I was wondering - can I expect that I will be able to run it on bare metal on the average desktop computer or as a custom ISO on a service like Digital Ocean or Vultr?

sodjan
Active Contributor

Re: Question about where we'll be able to run OpenVMS x86

Post by sodjan » Tue May 16, 2023 7:58 am

VMS is VMS is VMS.
So what you get now will be the same when the missing bits has been complete.
And it will run *supported* on whatever is specified in the road-mapp and other documents.

afassl
Active Contributor

Post by afassl » Tue May 16, 2023 8:26 am

There is already a discussion thread about running on dedicated hardware, there are some reports.
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=8621
As always - the challenges are related to the hardware being used, as I can see most related to the storage controller.

That's why the current most promising approach is to use a hypervisor, as those are offering LSI like controllers.

dmjb
Active Contributor

Post by dmjb » Tue May 16, 2023 8:27 am

Many of the cloud providers such as Amazon use the KVM hypervisor under the hood for their cloud instances, so it should be possible to deploy VMS x86 there. Perhaps the most notable exception is Microsoft who use Hyper-V, which is currently not supported by VMS.

Topic author
ahribellah
Visitor

Post by ahribellah » Tue May 16, 2023 3:27 pm