use unsupported disks in rx2800 i2?

Management of storage subsystems: SAN, volume shadowing, logical disks, file systems, and more.
Post Reply

Topic author
niklas
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:31 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

use unsupported disks in rx2800 i2?

Post by niklas » Mon Oct 03, 2022 3:13 am

Hi,

Anyone who has used disks that aren´t on the HPE HCL-list in rx2800 i2 servers?

Just got 3 "new" servers delivered and thinking of using some random SAS SSD in them.

Or is it a big no-no?

//Niklas


sms
Valued Contributor
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: use unsupported disks in rx2800 i2?

Post by sms » Tue Oct 04, 2022 1:22 am

Code: Select all

> Anyone who has used disks that aren't on the HPE HCL-list in rx2800
> i2 servers?

   Not I.  (All my junk is older.)

   What _is_ on the list?  Generally, I'd expect any generic SAS disk to
work about as well as a supported SAS disk.

> [...] thinking of using some random SAS SSD in them.

   I know nothing, but I wouldn't bet on an SSD working well in a system
which doesn't support _any_ SSDs.  If _some_ SSD _is_ supported, then
you might have a good chance with some other SSD, but if an SSD is a
novelty to the OS, then I'd expect trouble.


tim.stegner
VSI Expert
Contributor
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2021 9:14 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: use unsupported disks in rx2800 i2?

Post by tim.stegner » Tue Oct 04, 2022 8:38 am

Of the supported disk arrays listed on the VSI website, at least one of those arrays is all SSD. Don't specifically recall which without looking at the list, though. As for whether you can use an onboard SSD in an RX2800i2, I don't recall if that was tried. I don't actually know if a SSD was even available...


Topic author
niklas
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 7:31 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: use unsupported disks in rx2800 i2?

Post by niklas » Wed Oct 05, 2022 2:56 am

HPE has a few SSD on the HCL list.
And I think we have an i6 with SSD in our test environment also.

SAS SSD seems to be low in stock everywhere, so i´ll probably go with spinning disks instead.

//Niklas

Post Reply