vgit on x64

Talk about commercial or opensource products that already exist for OpenVMS or may be available in the future.
Post Reply

Topic author
adam
Contributor
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2023 2:46 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

vgit on x64

Post by adam » Sat May 20, 2023 1:34 am

Whenever I try to clone, well, anything, I get the following:

$ vgit clone https://github.com/lsst-sqre/farthing
Cloning into 'farthing'...
Bad news:
failed to make directory 'farthing/.git': bad file version number [2]

That is, it's trying to make the .git directory, which is definitely a thing a git repo needs, and then failing because that's not how VMS works.

Am I doing something wrong, or is vgit?


hb
Valued Contributor
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon May 01, 2023 12:11 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: vgit on x64

Post by hb » Sat May 20, 2023 9:08 am

Where is your current directory? It looks like you are on an ODS2 disk but you should be on an ODS5 disk.


Topic author
adam
Contributor
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2023 2:46 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: vgit on x64

Post by adam » Sat May 20, 2023 3:45 pm

Thank you! Yes, apparently I didn't specify /struct=5 when I initialized my user disk. Converting it now has gotten me further (to figuring out why name resolution isn't working, when I am getting an address from DHCP and that should be passing the nameserver address as well).


sodjan
Active Contributor
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2023 3:51 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: vgit on x64

Post by sodjan » Sat May 20, 2023 3:47 pm

Takes just a few sec/min to do a $ TCPIP SET NAME....
and you have your DNS settings done.


pkoning
Contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 19, 2023 2:19 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: vgit on x64

Post by pkoning » Mon May 22, 2023 1:33 pm

How did you get VGIT?

In the open source products listing it appears as an available option for X86, but then when I click on the link I see Alpha and IA64 kits, but no X86 kit.

User avatar

dmjb
Valued Contributor
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2020 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: vgit on x64

Post by dmjb » Mon May 22, 2023 2:16 pm

Here's the specific link which you should be able to access while logged in: https://sp.vmssoftware.com/#/packages/648


reinhardtjh
Valued Contributor
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 7:49 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Fort Worth, TX USA
Status: Offline

Re: vgit on x64

Post by reinhardtjh » Tue May 23, 2023 7:17 am

pkoning wrote:
Mon May 22, 2023 1:33 pm
How did you get VGIT?

In the open source products listing it appears as an available option for X86, but then when I click on the link I see Alpha and IA64 kits, but no X86 kit.
@pkoning
Hi Paul. For x86 stuff you currently have to go to the Service Portal. Once logged in there click the "Only Accessable" box to show you what you are allowed to download. It will probably be all x86 items. VGET is one of the listed. There is a ZIP file, a ZIP_VNC and a PDF for release notes

You can also do a "Data Search" for VGIT and it will show up.
John H. Reinhardt
VMS user since 1981


pkoning
Contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 19, 2023 2:19 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: vgit on x64

Post by pkoning » Tue May 23, 2023 10:15 am

Thanks to both of you -- that worked!

Post Reply