Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
ajbrehm
Active Contributor
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:55 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich
Status: Offline
Contact:

Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post by ajbrehm » Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:55 am

I am running FreeAXP on Parallels on my Mac and it cannot, apparently, emulate a NIC. The drop down menu just lists two options (quoted from post linked to below):

The two choices in the NIC interface dropdown are "dummy network" and " Invalid adapter: ask".

I think it is the same issue as described here: http://www.openvmshobbyist.com/forum/vi ... ad_id=2909

Did anyone get the NICs to work? I tried all four NICs Parallels can provide to VMs. I will try on VMware later today.


afassl
Contributor
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:15 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post by afassl » Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:08 pm

Hi,

tried the same on Windows 10 64 Bit being emulated on a VMware 6. Same issue.
I've got an FreeAXP emulation running on Windows 2008, on the same VMware host - and on this the NIC is being identified and works fine.
Windows 2008 - FreeAXP 3.0.0.617
Windows 10 - VSI Version FreeAXP 3.1.0.627

Version 3.1 isn't available on the migration specialist home page, looks like the site hasn't been updated for a while (still asking people if they plan to attend the 2016 boot camp).

I've copied the Student Image to this emulation setup and booted.
There is now a EWA0 device visible.

$ show dev ewa0 /full

Device EWA0:, device type DE435, is online, network device, error logging is
enabled, device is a template only.

Error count 0 Operations completed 0
Owner process "" Owner UIC [SYSTEM]
Owner process ID 00000000 Dev Prot S:RWPL,O:RWPL,G,W
Reference count 0 Default buffer size 512

Operating characteristics: Link state unknown.

Speed (Mbits/sec) 10
Def. MAC addr 02-0C-29-1F-D1-A8 Current MAC addr 02-0C-29-1F-D1-A8


TCPIP> show interface /full
Interface: LO0
IP_Addr: 127.0.0.1 NETWRK: 255.0.0.0 BRDCST:
MTU: 4096
Flags: UP LOOP NOARP MCAST SMPX
RECEIVE SEND
Packets 0 0
Errors 0 0
Collisions: 0

Interface: WE0
IP_Addr: 192.168.0.230 NETWRK: 255.255.255.0 BRDCST: 192.168.0.255
Ethernet_Addr: 02-0C-29-1F-D1-A8 MTU: 1500
Flags: UP BRDCST RUN MCAST SMPX
RECEIVE SEND
Packets 407 270
Errors 0 0
Collisions: 0

TCPIP> ping
PING test (192.168.0.230): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.0.230: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=3 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.230: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0 ms

But for some reason - it fails to the outside world. Will try more and update
TCPIP> ping 192.168.0.101
PING 192.168.0.101 (192.168.0.101): 56 data bytes
Cancel



----192.168.0.101 PING Statistics----
4 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

User avatar

Topic author
ajbrehm
Active Contributor
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:55 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post by ajbrehm » Wed Jun 19, 2019 3:46 am

afassl wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 3:08 pm
Hi,

tried the same on Windows 10 64 Bit being emulated on a VMware 6. Same issue.
I've got an FreeAXP emulation running on Windows 2008, on the same VMware host - and on this the NIC is being identified and works fine.
Windows 2008 - FreeAXP 3.0.0.617
Windows 10 - VSI Version FreeAXP 3.1.0.627

Version 3.1 isn't available on the migration specialist home page, looks like the site hasn't been updated for a while (still asking people if they plan to attend the 2016 boot camp).

I've copied the Student Image to this emulation setup and booted.
There is now a EWA0 device visible.
I tried the same last night.

Oddly enough on one installation FreeAXP uninstalled the earlier version but not the OpenVMS image and configuration and on another installation FreeAXP uninstalled the earlier version and destroyed the OpenVMS image and configuration.

But then the NICs worked.

I wonder what the correct way to install this should be.

User avatar

Topic author
ajbrehm
Active Contributor
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:55 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post by ajbrehm » Wed Jun 19, 2019 2:28 pm

Ok, found out:

Trick is to install FreeAXP 3.0 from http://www.migrationspecialties.com/FreeAXP.html.

This is a 64 bit FreeAXP.

Then install the OpenVMS Student kit over it. Its FreeAXP 3.1 will replace the previously installed FreeAXP 3.0 but retain the network card support.

Oddly enough FreeAXP is then installed in C:\Program Files (x86) even though it is a 64 bit application.

But it appears to work.

User avatar

Topic author
ajbrehm
Active Contributor
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:55 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Zurich
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post by ajbrehm » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:22 am

I configured TCP/IP and I can ping IP addresses and names. I can ssh to localhost.

But when I ping or connect to the OpenVMS system from the host Windows system it doesn't answer.

Update: ping and ssh work from other machines on the network, just not the Windows host of the FreeAXP instance.
Last edited by ajbrehm on Sat Jun 22, 2019 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar

martinv
Contributor
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:05 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Goslar, Germany
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post by martinv » Sun Jun 23, 2019 10:22 am

That is a consequence of how the network connection (that uses the pcap library) works: it switches the network interface to promiscuous mode and selects those packets for the VMS machine. For communicating with the host machine one possible solution would be a second interface (with a second IP adress) connected to a Windows loopback adapter.
If you think it's expensive to hire a professional, wait until you hire an amateur.


apal
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:57 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Hobbyist FreeAXP NIC emulation

Post by apal » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:39 am

I am trying to connect to FreeAXP on the same machine with one NIC running Windows 10 pro 64 bit.

Are there any other possible solutions?

Thanks

Post Reply