Setting up a replacement rx3600

Post Reply

Topic author
vmskostoff
Contributor
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:29 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Gary, Indiana
Status: Offline

Setting up a replacement rx3600

Post by vmskostoff » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:34 am

An rx3600 has failed in our data center. There is a backup rx3600 in its place. But I am finding not a lot of information on how to transfer info from backup to new rx3600, configure the boot options, essentially check out all that needs to be changed or verified on new rx3600 as was done on an Alpha node at the triple >>>.

Need new rx3600 to access a SAN thru fiber channel as well.

Appreciate any thoughts links, article, feedback.


marty.stu
Site Admin
Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 6:56 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Chelyabinsk
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Setting up a replacement rx3600

Post by marty.stu » Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:40 am

Hi vmskostoff,

The question is very broad and concerns a lot of system management topics. First of all, are your disk devices still alive? Are hard disk drives physically connected to the failed system via a SAS interface or are they attached to a storage array and accessed on SAN? Is any form of data replication applied to the storage?

As to the information on how to work with the EFI shell and iLO MP console, martinv already provided you with some links and recommendations in another thread. Here are some more guides:

https://software.intel.com/en-us/articl ... scripting/
http://sciinc.com/remotedba/techinfo/te ... onsole.pdf
http://h20628.www2.hp.com/km-ext/kmcsdi ... 0179-9.pdf
http://h20628.www2.hp.com/km-ext/kmcsdi ... 5760-3.pdf
Last edited by marty.stu on Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Run to the bedroom, In the suitcase on the left You'll find my favorite axe.


Topic author
vmskostoff
Contributor
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:29 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Gary, Indiana
Status: Offline

Re: Setting up a replacement rx3600

Post by vmskostoff » Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:33 am

Hi marty.stu,
Thanks for your reply.
1. All disk devices still alive? Yes, local disks are still alive.
2. Are hard disk drives physically connected via SAS? Yes. Eight local drives are connected via SAS.
Attached to storage array on SAN? Yes. There are three disks accessed via SAN thru fiber channel.

In this setup, the SAN drives are the master members of the volume shadowing configuration. Therefore, it is
important to regain connectivity to these drives if at all possible first.

3. Data replication? Volume shadowing is employed in this configuration.

Understand the post is broad since this is our first time putting "humpty dumpty back together again". There are as you point out, some links and recommendations, but because this configuration is a blend of locally attached disks and SAN-attached disks, it leaves questions on what is described in the available links and recommendations as well as what we are seeing with our hands on new rx3600.

User avatar

martinv
Contributor
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:05 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Goslar, Germany
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Setting up a replacement rx3600

Post by martinv » Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:15 am

vmskostoff wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:33 am
In this setup, the SAN drives are the master members of the volume shadowing configuration. Therefore, it is important to regain connectivity to these drives if at all possible first
At the EFI level, you only need access to the VMS boot disk. So your SAN disks are only concerned if you're booting from a SAN disk (possibly shadowed to a local disk).

Everything else is just a matter of the MOUNT commands carried out through system startup - I would advise a conversational boot first, and disable the commonly used startup until you are sure everything is set up correctly.

I have described the steps necessary to access a FibreChannel boot disk in my EFI presentation.
If you think it's expensive to hire a professional, wait until you hire an amateur.

User avatar

martinv
Contributor
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:05 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Goslar, Germany
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Setting up a replacement rx3600

Post by martinv » Thu Jul 18, 2019 1:24 am

vmskostoff wrote:
Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:33 am
In this setup, the SAN drives are the master members of the volume shadowing configuration. Therefore, it is important to regain connectivity to these drives if at all possible first.
And by the way: if a shadow set in steady state is dismounted properly, any member can be mounted first afterwards - there's no master member. If it's not, you should mount it with all member disks, and let VMS decide which member holds the most recent generation of data.
Last edited by martinv on Thu Jul 18, 2019 5:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
If you think it's expensive to hire a professional, wait until you hire an amateur.

Post Reply