I/O error trying to include Starlet library


Topic author
meyer_d
Contributor
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2023 10:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by meyer_d » Mon May 13, 2024 10:22 am

I'm trying to compile a program with BLISS-32 (the ALPHA program from Chapter 9 of BLISS-32 User Manual) and get the following error:

Code: Select all

%BLS32-F-ENDABORT, Fatal I/O error - compilation aborted
-RMS-E-FNF, file not found
;   0035  1     %BLISS32( LIBRARY 'SYS$LIBRARY:STARLET';)
? ERR #110      ..................1  L1:0035  L2:0035  L3:0000
  Open failure for REQUIRE or LIBRARY file
  Error occurred expanding macro-formal #1, called from macro %REMAINING, called
 from macro %BLISS32,
       called from source
%BLS32-F-TEXT,  I/O error on library file
-BLS32-F-ENDABORT, Fatal error - compilation aborted
However, SYS$LIBRARY: contains the following files named "STARLET":

Code: Select all

STARLET.MLB;2       STARLET.OLB;4       STARLET.OLB_TEMP;1  STARLET.PAS;1
STARLET.PEN;1       STARLET.REQ;1
Any idea what's wrong?
David Meyer
Takarazuka, Japan
papa@sdf.org


sms
Master
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by sms » Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:16 pm

Code: Select all

> [...] ALL is a bad idea anyaway. [...]

      Not entirely.  NOALL is useful.  Around here (for decades):

its $ show symb spp*
  SPP == "SET PROCESS /PRIVILEGE ="
  SPPN == "SET PROCESS /PRIVILEGE = (NOALL, NETMBX, TMPMBX)"

   Allowing NOALL without ALL would be worse.


roberbrooks
VSI Expert
Valued Contributor
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:48 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by roberbrooks » Mon Jun 10, 2024 10:56 pm

$ set proc /priv = noall probably does not do what you think.
--
-- Rob


sms
Master
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by sms » Tue Jun 11, 2024 12:55 am

Code: Select all

> $ set proc /priv = noall probably does not do what you think.

   It seems to do what _I_ expect, just as it has done since I learned
about it, lo, those many years ago.

[...]
Process privileges:
 
Process rights:
[...]

   But if you have any actual information on the topic, perhaps time
spent getting it into the documentation would be more helpful than time
spent here providing vague hints about what might be probable.

User avatar

martinv
Master
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:05 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Goslar, Germany
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by martinv » Tue Jun 11, 2024 1:49 am

cct wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2024 1:14 pm
Interesting that the HELP doesn't mention ALL, or NO. Just checked and neither does the DCL dictionary.
They're hidden in AUTORIZE's description of /DEFPRIVILEGES
A NO prefix removes a privilege from the user. By specifying the keyword [NO]ALL, you can disable or enable all user privileges.
Interestingly, the /PRIVILEGES description differs and is less complete
A NO prefix removes the privilege from the user. The keyword NOALL disables all user privileges.
Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.
(Thomas A. Edison)

User avatar

cct
Master
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:00 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by cct » Tue Jun 11, 2024 7:37 am

roberbrooks wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2024 10:56 pm
$ set proc /priv = noall probably does not do what you think.
On its own, it leaves you with your defpriv
--
Chris


sms
Master
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by sms » Tue Jun 11, 2024 10:15 am

Code: Select all

> On its own, it leaves you with your defpriv

   At least one of us is confused.  When I tried it as SYSTEM, I got
that empty list of "Process privileges:" shown above.  As I expected.  
Perhaps you could demonstrate _your_ claim.

   "_Authorized_ privileges:" is not affected, but I would call that a
_user_ attribute, not a _process_ attribute.

User avatar

cct
Master
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:00 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by cct » Tue Jun 11, 2024 10:28 am

sms wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2024 10:15 am

Code: Select all

> On its own, it leaves you with your defpriv

   At least one of us is confused.  When I tried it as SYSTEM, I got
that empty list of "Process privileges:" shown above.  As I expected.  
Perhaps you could demonstrate _your_ claim.

   "_Authorized_ privileges:" is not affected, but I would call that a
_user_ attribute, not a _process_ attribute.
You don't show anything above!

From user SYSTEM, I get:

Code: Select all

SYS-1> set proc/priv=(noall)
SYS-1> sh proc/priv

11-JUN-2024 15:22:42.56   User: SYSTEM           Process ID:   00000248
                          Node: VMS1             Process name: "_RTA1:"

Authorized privileges:
 ACNT         ALLSPOOL     ALTPRI       AUDIT        BUGCHK       BYPASS
 CMEXEC       CMKRNL       DIAGNOSE     DOWNGRADE    EXQUOTA      GROUP
 GRPNAM       GRPPRV       IMPERSONATE  IMPORT       LOG_IO       MOUNT
 NETMBX       OPER         PFNMAP       PHY_IO       PRMCEB       PRMGBL
 PRMMBX       PSWAPM       READALL      SECURITY     SETPRV       SHARE
 SHMEM        SYSGBL       SYSLCK       SYSNAM       SYSPRV       TMPMBX
 UPGRADE      VOLPRO       WORLD
Which I see is the same as from my account - I get to keep default privs
--
Chris


sms
Master
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by sms » Tue Jun 11, 2024 2:03 pm

Code: Select all

> You don't show anything above!

   Of course not.  "Not anything" is a precise and accurate description
of the list of "Process privileges:" after NOALL.

      https://forum.vmssoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=9071&start=20#p21574

> [...] I get to keep default privs

   The command is "SET PROCESS", not "SET ME".  Which privileges does
your _process_ retain?

>    At least one of us is confused. [...]

   I believe that I know which of us that is.

Post Reply