I/O error trying to include Starlet library


Topic author
meyer_d
Contributor
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2023 10:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by meyer_d » Mon May 13, 2024 10:22 am

I'm trying to compile a program with BLISS-32 (the ALPHA program from Chapter 9 of BLISS-32 User Manual) and get the following error:

Code: Select all

%BLS32-F-ENDABORT, Fatal I/O error - compilation aborted
-RMS-E-FNF, file not found
;   0035  1     %BLISS32( LIBRARY 'SYS$LIBRARY:STARLET';)
? ERR #110      ..................1  L1:0035  L2:0035  L3:0000
  Open failure for REQUIRE or LIBRARY file
  Error occurred expanding macro-formal #1, called from macro %REMAINING, called
 from macro %BLISS32,
       called from source
%BLS32-F-TEXT,  I/O error on library file
-BLS32-F-ENDABORT, Fatal error - compilation aborted
However, SYS$LIBRARY: contains the following files named "STARLET":

Code: Select all

STARLET.MLB;2       STARLET.OLB;4       STARLET.OLB_TEMP;1  STARLET.PAS;1
STARLET.PEN;1       STARLET.REQ;1
Any idea what's wrong?


goathunter
Contributor
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:21 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by goathunter » Mon May 13, 2024 11:05 am

Yes. You need to compile the STARLET.REQ and LIB.REQ files into .L32 library files. This is documented in the BLISS release notes.

For VAX, it was just:

Code: Select all

    $ SET DEFAULT SYS$LIBRARY
    $ BLISS/LIBRARY STARLET
    $ BLISS/LIBRARY=LIB STARLET+LIB
For Alpha:

Code: Select all

   $bliss/a32/terminal=noerrors/lib=sys$common:[syslib]starlet.l32 sys$library:starlet.req
   $bliss/a32/terminal=noerrors/lib=sys$common:[syslib]lib.l32 sys$library:lib.req
   $bliss/a64/lib=sys$common:[syslib]starlet.l64  sys$library:starlet.r64
   $bliss/a64/lib=sys$common:[syslib]lib.l64 sys$library:lib.r64
For IA64:

Code: Select all

   $bliss/i32/terminal=noerrors/lib=sys$common:[syslib]starlet.l32 sys$library:starlet.req
   $bliss/i32/terminal=noerrors/lib=sys$common:[syslib]lib.l32 sys$library:lib.req
   $bliss/i64/lib=sys$common:[syslib]starlet.l64  sys$library:starlet.r64
   $bliss/i64/alpha_register_mapping/lib=sys$common:[syslib]lib.l64 sys$library:lib.r64
And for X86_64:

Code: Select all

   $bliss/x32/terminal=noerrors/lib=sys$common:[syslib]starlet.l32 sys$library:starlet.req
   $bliss/x32/terminal=noerrors/lib=sys$common:[syslib]lib.l32 sys$library:lib.req
   $bliss/x64/terminal=noerrors/lib=sys$common:[syslib]starlet.l64  sys$library:starlet.r64
   $bliss/x64/terminal=noerrors/Assume=NoQuad_Literal/lib=sys$common:[syslib]lib.l64 sys$library:lib.r64
Last edited by goathunter on Mon May 13, 2024 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar

volkerhalle
Master
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2020 11:31 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by volkerhalle » Mon May 13, 2024 11:24 am

Those lines seem to contain a typo:
.../lib=sys$common:[syslib]:...
No ':' after [syslib] please !

Volker.


Topic author
meyer_d
Contributor
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2023 10:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by meyer_d » Mon May 13, 2024 11:27 am

Thank you. That's what I needed.

I'm working on an emulated VAX, but don't have write access to SYS$LIBRARY:, so I created STARLET.L32 and LIB.L32 in my log-in directory with the following commands, and changing the include statement to "LIBRARY 'STARLET';".

Code: Select all

 $ BLISS/LIBRARY SYS$LIBRARY:STARLET
 $ BLISS/LIBRARY=LIB SYS$LIBRARY:STARLET+SYS$LIBRARY:LIB
Last edited by meyer_d on Mon May 13, 2024 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.


goathunter
Contributor
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:21 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by goathunter » Mon May 13, 2024 10:49 pm

volkerhalle wrote:
Mon May 13, 2024 11:24 am
Those lines seem to contain a typo:
.../lib=sys$common:[syslib]:...
No ':' after [syslib] please !

Volker.
So they do. And that was copied and pasted directly from the release notes. :) I've corrected my post.


jreagan
VSI Expert
Master
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:40 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by jreagan » Thu May 16, 2024 10:38 am

And Ive fixed the release notes for the next kit. Should I modify the PCSI kit to perform those compilations during the installation? (the Pascal compiler does that in VMSINSTAL and I'll do that in PCSI when I switch it over soon)

User avatar

arne_v
Master
Posts: 409
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:31 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by arne_v » Thu May 16, 2024 10:42 am

I would say YES.

It makes it easier for users. And I don't see any downsides (40 years ago the disk space may have mattered, but not today).
Arne
arne@vajhoej.dk
VMS user since 1986


goathunter
Contributor
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 7:21 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by goathunter » Thu May 16, 2024 10:45 am

Yes, please! I agree that that would be a great change. Thanks!

User avatar

m_detommaso
Valued Contributor
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 6:57 am
Reputation: 1
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by m_detommaso » Thu May 16, 2024 10:53 am

Yes, please.

/Maurizio


jreagan
VSI Expert
Master
Posts: 154
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 8:40 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: I/O error trying to include Starlet library

Post by jreagan » Thu May 16, 2024 1:33 pm

ok, I'll try to do that for the next kit (sometime in the next month or so)

Post Reply