TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Everything about buying, using, and managing OpenVMS systems not covered by other sections.

Topic author
csewell
Contributor
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2022 3:47 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by csewell » Wed Feb 28, 2024 3:20 pm

Did EVE/TPU ever support 8-bit characters? I know it has a /CHARACTER_SET qualifier but this doesn't seem to do much. If I edit a file that includes accented characters, the characters just disappear as if they were not even there. If I try to paste in accented characters, the sign bit is stripped and they show up as their 7-bit equivalents.

User avatar

arne_v
Master
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:31 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Status: Online
Contact:

Re: TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by arne_v » Fri Mar 22, 2024 12:29 pm

VT200 or higher and 8 bit must be the right way. It was the the right way 35 years ago and still is.

It is possible. Lots of people use Putty, 8 bit and VT400 with VMS.

So I will recommend focusing on moving from VT100 7 bit to VT200+ (I suggest VT400) 8 bit,
Arne
arne@vajhoej.dk
VMS user since 1986


thorleif
Contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:26 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by thorleif » Fri Mar 22, 2024 2:10 pm

$ set ter/eight/dev=vt400
$ show term
Terminal: _OPA0: Device_Type: VT400_Series Owner: SYSTEM

Input: 115200 LFfill: 0 Width: 80 Parity: None
Output: 115200 CRfill: 0 Page: 24

Terminal Characteristics:
Interactive Echo Type_ahead No Escape
No Hostsync TTsync Lowercase Tab
Wrap Scope No Remote Eightbit
Broadcast No Readsync No Form Fulldup
No Modem No Local_echo No Autobaud No Hangup
No Brdcstmbx No DMA No Altypeahd Set_speed
No Commsync Line Editing Insert editing No Fallback
No Dialup No Secure server No Disconnect No Pasthru
No Syspassword No SIXEL Graphics No Soft Characters No Printer Port
Numeric Keypad ANSI_CRT No Regis No Block_mode
Advanced_video Edit_mode DEC_CRT DEC_CRT2
DEC_CRT3 DEC_CRT4 No DEC_CRT5 No Ansi_Color
VMS Style Input <CTRL-H> Backspace
$ edit/tpu demo.cxx
�;H#include <iostream>�KEVE$INIT.EVE;E;
#include <vector>�K
int main(){�K
�K
std::cout << "hALLO HEIMUR" <<'\n';�K
�K
std::vector<int> v;�K
�K
v.push_back(1);�K
int i;�K
=v.back(�K
þreturn 0;�K
�K
}�K
[End of file]�K�22;H�;7m Buffer: DEMO.CXX | Write | Insert | Forward �m
�K�K�22A�4h

Thanks.
Thorleifur

User avatar

arne_v
Master
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:31 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Status: Online
Contact:

Re: TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by arne_v » Fri Mar 22, 2024 2:43 pm

What terminal (emulator) are you using?

Is it set for VT200+ and 8 bit?
Arne
arne@vajhoej.dk
VMS user since 1986


thorleif
Contributor
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:26 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by thorleif » Fri Mar 22, 2024 11:36 pm

set ter/eight/dev=vt400
$ show term
Terminal: _OPA0: Device_Type: VT400_Series Owner: SYSTEM

Input: 115200 LFfill: 0 Width: 80 Parity: None
Output: 115200 CRfill: 0 Page: 24

Added in 11 hours 56 minutes 7 seconds:
The problem was the terminal: _OPA0 when you telnet to OpenVMS using virtualbox. When I telnet OpenVMS using TCP/IP it is much better when i use DEV=vt100 but not for dev=vt200

thanks,
Thorleifur

User avatar

cct
Master
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:00 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline

Re: TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by cct » Sat Mar 23, 2024 3:29 pm

If it is of interest, I use PuTTy from a PC, set up under Keyboard as using ESC[n~ and in my login.com if the device is FTxn:

Code: Select all

$ set term /inquire
$ dvnm = f$getdvi(f$getjpi("", "TERMINAL"), "DEVICE_TYPE_NAME")
$ if dvnm .eqs. "VT102"
$ then
$       ttrows=f$getdvi(f$getjpi("", "TERMINAL"), "TT_PAGE")
$       set terminal /device=VT400 /eight /line /insert                 -
                /page='ttrows'
$ endif
I don't set the width, as it picks up my session width, an I don't want to clear te screen.
This leaves the terminal as:

Code: Select all

Terminal: _FTA3:      Device_Type: VT400_Series  Owner: TOWNLEYC

   Input:    9600     LFfill:  0      Width:  80      Parity: None
   Output:   9600     CRfill:  0      Page:   40

Terminal Characteristics:
   Interactive        Echo               Type_ahead         No Escape
   Hostsync           TTsync             Lowercase          Tab
   Wrap               Scope              No Remote          Eightbit
   Broadcast          No Readsync        No Form            Fulldup
   No Modem           No Local_echo      No Autobaud        No Hangup
   No Brdcstmbx       No DMA             No Altypeahd       Set_speed
   No Commsync        Line Editing       Insert editing     No Fallback
   No Dialup          Secure server      No Disconnect      No Pasthru
   No Syspassword     No SIXEL Graphics  No Soft Characters No Printer Port
   Numeric Keypad     ANSI_CRT           No Regis           No Block_mode
   Advanced_video     Edit_mode          DEC_CRT            DEC_CRT2
   DEC_CRT3           DEC_CRT4           No DEC_CRT5        No Ansi_Color
   VMS Style Input    <CTRL-H> Backspace
I have no problem with EVE, or monitor etc
--
Chris


babydr
Valued Contributor
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2021 8:02 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Fairbanks , AK.
Status: Offline

Re: TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by babydr » Sat Mar 23, 2024 5:22 pm

@ Chris , For Our Info , Are there any changes from the defaults of putty that one should be aware of when using your terminal settings ?

Tia , JimL


sodjan
Active Contributor
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2023 3:51 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: TPU editor and 8-bit characters

Post by sodjan » Tue Mar 26, 2024 5:55 am

Putty defaults to utf8. That does not work well. Change to dec-mcs.

And this setting is in Putty. Stop showing vms output when asked about Putty settings!

Post Reply