Page 1 of 1

Renaming OpenVMS host

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:43 pm
by ajbrehm
I must have become rusty.

I am trying to rename an OpenVMS machine. modparams.dat change is done, sys$node_* is changed, net$configure.com and tcpip$config.com did their job, and ctrl-t confirms the new node name.

However, all devices still insist in being named after the old node name, including nodename$dka0 and several logicals use the old node name and refuse to change. What did I overlook?

Re: Renaming OpenVMS host

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:33 pm
by sms

Code: Select all

> I must have become rusty.

   That's why people write stuff down.  And this new Inter-Web thing
makes finding such written-down stuff possible/practical.

> [...] an OpenVMS machine. [...]

   Hardware?  Software?

> [...] What did I overlook?

   My first guess:

      mcr sysgen show scsnode

      https://www.digiater.nl/openvms/freeware/v70/vmsfaq/vmsfaq_007.html

   Look for: "5.7 How do I change the node name of an OpenVMS System?"

Re: Renaming OpenVMS host

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2020 2:11 am
by ajbrehm
sms wrote:
Mon Nov 30, 2020 6:33 pm

mcr sysgen show scsnode

https://www.digiater.nl/openvms/freewar ... q_007.html

Look for: "5.7 How do I change the node name of an OpenVMS System?"
No, did all that. Node name is changed, ctrl-t shows new node name.

Thanks for the tip about things written down. But the problem is what to do AFTER following those instructions with the symptoms described above?

Re: Renaming OpenVMS host

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:25 am
by ajbrehm
For what it's worth, the problem was a combination of problems caused by queues and a problem with systartup_vms.com which does not reach starting TCP/IP if it runs into a missing queue first.

This method works:

Rename OpenVMS node
1. Edit systartup_vms.com to disable starting sys$batch.
• EDIT SYS$LOGIN:SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM
• Look (F1) for sys$batch and comment out
• $ START /QUEUE SYS$BATCH
• to look like
• $! START /QUEUE SYS$BATCH
• ctrl-z
• This is necessary for systartup_vms.com not to crash when the queue is missing.
2. Remove all queues, like sys$batch.
• STOP/QUEUE/NEXT SYS$BATCH
• DELETE/QUEUE SYS$BATCH
3. Modify SCSNODE value in modparams.dat and run autogen.com.
• EDIT SYS$SYSTEM:MODPARAMS.DAT
• ctrl-z
• @DKA0:[VMS$COMMON.SYSUPD]AUTOGEN
4. Rename node.
• RUN SYS$SYSTEM:SYSGEN
• SHOW SCSNODE
• SET SCSNODE “NEWNAME”
• WRITE CURRENT
• EXIT
5. Rename identifier sys$node_oldname to sys$node_newname.
• RUN SYS$SYSTEM:AUTHORIZE
• RENAME/IDENTIFIER SYS$NODE_OLDNAME SYS$NODE_NEWNAME
• EXIT
6. Reboot.
• REBOOT
7. After the reboot, log in via serial console and configure TCP/IP.
• @SYS$LOGIN:TCPIP$CONFIG
• Follow the menus, best to configure options 1-4 by pressing “A”
• Do not start TCP/IP until it is fully configured.
• Enable ssh client and server.
8. Log in via ssh and ctrl-t to test new name. Recreate batches like sys$batch.
• INIT/QUEUE/BATCH SYS$BATCH
• EDIT SYS$LOGIN:SYSTARTUP_VMS.COM
• Look (F1) for sys$batch and uncomment the line
• $! START /QUEUE SYS$BATCH
• to look like
• $ START /QUEUE SYS$BATCH
• ctrl-z

Re: Renaming OpenVMS host

Posted: Wed Dec 02, 2020 9:32 am
by ajbrehm
I added an article to the wiki.