Itanium sattelite fails to boot

OpenVMS clustering, cluster management utilities, protocols, building and managing clusters of any scale.
Post Reply

Topic author
joukj
Master
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 5:50 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Itanium sattelite fails to boot

Post by joukj » Thu Dec 21, 2023 2:08 am

Hi All

I swapped some hardware. Now one of my Itanium machine (A RX2600) fails to boot as a sattelite. I get on the console:

Code: Select all

Loading.: IA64 cluster
Running LoadFile()

CLIENT MAC ADDR: 00 30 6E 67 C4 6A
CLIENT IP: 131.180.25.45  MASK: 255.255.0.0  DHCP IP: 0.240.0.0
Running LoadFile()

Starting: IA64 cluster

%VMS_LOADER-E-MULTCON: CONOUT device path cannot be set to multiple devices


%VMS_LOADER-E-NOCONSEL - Select Console Device Paths from the Boot Manager Menu.


%VMS_LOADER-I-TRANSFER:   Starting VSI OpenVMS...
%IPB-I-SUCCESS, VSI OpenVMS IPB version V8.4-2L3 successfully loaded.
EGA-I-BOOTDRIVER, Link up, selected 1000 mbit, full-duplex mode

 Network Initial System Load Function
 Version 1.2

  FUNCTION        FUNCTION
    ID
    1     -       Display Menu
    2     -       Help
    3     -       Choose Service
    4     -       Select Options
    5     -       Stop

 Enter a function ID value: 


Looks like the intenet connection is OK: it gets the IP-adddress that is in the bootp-configuration but after that bootp is not started and I get the info-server menu.. What am I missing? How can I havthe sattelite use bootp to boot?


Jouk

User avatar

imiller
Master
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:45 am
Reputation: 0
Location: South Tyneside, UK
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Itanium sattelite fails to boot

Post by imiller » Thu Dec 21, 2023 4:25 am

have you read the documentation?
https://docs.vmssoftware.com/vsi-openvm ... #PART-Boot

Did the MAC address change?
Ian Miller
[ personal opinion only. usual disclaimers apply. Do not taunt happy fun ball ].


Topic author
joukj
Master
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 5:50 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Itanium sattelite fails to boot

Post by joukj » Thu Dec 21, 2023 4:44 am

Yes the MAC-adress changed. I changed the sattelites mac-adress using @cluster_config. The MAC-address listed in the the mail above is the mac-adrfess of the RX2600 and is also listed in "tcpip show bootp"


Also three sattlites whose hardware was not changed can still boot using bootp.

To be clear I got a new boot member hardware and booted from the "old" disk. Also the hardware of the RX2600 was changed , but that one now gives booting problems.

Jouk
Last edited by joukj on Thu Dec 21, 2023 4:58 am, edited 2 times in total.


Topic author
joukj
Master
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 5:50 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Itanium sattelite fails to boot

Post by joukj » Thu Jan 04, 2024 5:52 am

Got it working....

It seems that setting the boot option using the BIOS doe not work. I booted from DVD and used @BOOT_OPTIONS. This asks specifically for the satellite option.

Jouk

Post Reply