Virtualbox and VMDK

Having difficulties when installing the system? Your system runs slowly and requires some tweaking? You can get help here.

Topic author
aussiesusan
Visitor
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2024 6:28 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by aussiesusan » Tue Apr 02, 2024 6:48 pm

Environment: Windows 11 (fully patched) on an IntelNUC PC.
Installed VirtualBox 7.0.14r161095.

From the email I have downloaded the VMDK zip file and expanded ot to get the 2 VMDK files ('community' at 637 bytes, and 'community_flat' at 5.37GB).

Using the link in the email (https://d2h1r304.na1.hubspotlinks.com/C ... jf9fL1Z204) and following the 'Windows GUI' section, I get to the guide in step 2 (https://docs.vmssoftware.com/vsi-openvm ... eateVboxVM) but there my problem starts.

Step b) says to set the ISO image to the OpenVMS ISO file - is that the VMDK? If so which one?

If I try to use the VMDK image (either one) I get
Failed to open the disk image file C:\Users\Susan\Downloads\community.vmdk.

The medium 'C:\Users\Susan\Downloads\community.vmdk' can't be used as the requested device type (DVD, detected HDD).

Result Code:E_FAIL (0X80004005)
Component:MediumWrap
Interface:IMedium {ad47ad09-787b-44ab-b343-a082a3f2dfb1}
Callee:IVirtualBox {7682d5eb-f00e-44f1-8ca2-99d08b1cd607}
Callee RC:VBOX_E_OBJECT_NOT_FOUND (0X80BB0001)
What am I doing worng?

Susan


sms
Master
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 5:18 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by sms » Tue Apr 16, 2024 12:18 am

Code: Select all

> ATTACHMENTS

   Ok, but...

> It's not pretty, [...]

   Agreed.  Around here (Mac, Pages), too many apparent (red) spelling
complaints make the "Linux Shell" commands very hard to read.

> [...] a Microsoft Word document. [...]

   Export as PDF (so that a web browser can render it without help)?

> [...] You may be asking yourself why I am discussing it at all, [...]

   Yup.  If it's "not worth going into here", then don't go into it
here.  Mysterious clutter is unhelpful to the reader.


   In the original:

      c. Go to Network.
         i.   Click the "Attached to" dropdown and select "Host-only
              Adapter".

   I'll admit much ignorance as to the inner workings of VM network
configuration, but does a "Host-only" (equivalent to "Private to my Mac"
in VMware Fusion?) adapter mean that the VM is accessible to only the
host system?  Around here, I use "Bridged Networking" with a dedicated
adapter (not used by the host-system OS).  And anyone on my LAN can
communicate with my VMs.

   Many users might not care, but, when different options exist, I might
not say "do it this way" without mentioning the other options and their
pros and cons.

User avatar

martinv
Master
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:05 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Goslar, Germany
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by martinv » Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:54 am

> [...] a Microsoft Word document. [...]

Export as PDF (so that a web browser can render it without help)?
Done. I've done some reformatting and changed the IMHO wrongly capitalized "vboxmanage" command to "VBoxManage".
In the original:

c. Go to Network.
i. Click the "Attached to" dropdown and select "Host-only Adapter".

I'll admit much ignorance as to the inner workings of VM network configuration, but does a "Host-only" (equivalent to "Private to my Mac" in VMware Fusion?) adapter mean that the VM is accessible to only the host system? Around here, I use "Bridged Networking" with a dedicated adapter (not used by the host-system OS). And anyone on my LAN can communicate with my VMs.

Many users might not care, but, when different options exist, I might not say "do it this way" without mentioning the other options and their pros and cons.
Quite right.

That's why I've configured two network adapters on the VM - one bridged for the outside world, one host-only for the host system. Done that with SimH VAX and Alphas, too. And it has always been working well.
Attachments
Modified instructions for using VSI's VMS Community VMDK kit instead of installing from ISO.pdf
(535.65 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
There is something wrong with everything that is popular.
(Charles Fort)


karl
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:46 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by karl » Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:51 pm

Thanks all for the suggestions getting the VM working. I am currently using a windows machine for this.The problem now is getting putty configured correctly. I can connect but the settings are not right and I cant interact with the machine. I get a strange window popping up that asks me what language I want to use. Any ideas?


snadow
Contributor
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:10 am
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by snadow » Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:22 pm

Configuring PuTTY correctly can be an adventure in itself, as you noticed. Try this information that VSI has published.

https://docs.vmssoftware.com/vsi-openvm ... 92#d0e3471


karl
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:46 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by karl » Wed Apr 17, 2024 8:40 pm

Thanks snadow, that was helpful. I was able to get putty configured as per the document you referenced. Now I am having the same problem that pocketprobe referenced on Apr 12 : "This machine does NOT meet the requirements for running OpenVMS." which is strange since I also followed the amended instructions. I dont think my windows laptop has hyper-v but I note that WSL is installed at C:\Windows\System32 - I don't use this so not sure why its there.

Added in 1 hour 8 minutes 45 seconds:
I repeated all the steps and made a new VM. When I connect via putty I get the same error. I did a screen grab of what was being displayed on the VM but I don't understand it.
openvms_console_screengrab.pdf
(251.66 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
Last edited by karl on Wed Apr 17, 2024 10:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar

martinv
Master
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:05 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Goslar, Germany
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by martinv » Thu Apr 18, 2024 2:15 am

The reason for the failure is given in the lines above the error message: "No XSAVE instruction". This is probably due to Hyper-V being active. See this thread for some background information and potentially remedial action.

I have experienced the same error, tried a lot of things, and finally gave up on it. I'm now running OpenVMS x86_64 under VMware Wokstation Player.
Last edited by martinv on Thu Apr 18, 2024 2:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
There is something wrong with everything that is popular.
(Charles Fort)


karl
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:46 pm
Reputation: 0
Status: Offline

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by karl » Thu Apr 18, 2024 10:52 am

Thank you for this information. Arggh. Maybe time to go with linux.

User avatar

arne_v
Master
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:31 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by arne_v » Thu Apr 18, 2024 2:54 pm

VirtualBox seems to be a hassle to get working due to this.

Pick something else. I also use VMWare Player.
Arne
arne@vajhoej.dk
VMS user since 1986

User avatar

cct
Master
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:00 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Cambridge, UK
Status: Offline

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by cct » Thu Apr 18, 2024 3:17 pm

Isn't the problem with VMWare license fees now Broadcom have it?

I set up a reasonable Intel machine, running Ubuntu, and run KVM/QEMU, I found it very good, and easy to use
--
Chris

User avatar

arne_v
Master
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:31 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Status: Offline
Contact:

Re: Virtualbox and VMDK

Post by arne_v » Thu Apr 18, 2024 3:33 pm

cct wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2024 3:17 pm
Isn't the problem with VMWare license fees now Broadcom have it?
They dropped the free ESXi.

I am not aware that they have dropped the free for non-commercial usage Player.
Arne
arne@vajhoej.dk
VMS user since 1986

Post Reply